#3: The Best Medicine.

7/22 and a half/14.

Oops.

It’s 3am.

Fun fact: Learning a lesson a day is a lot harder than you think, and not for the reasons you’re probably thinking.

It’s honestly really easy to learn a lesson each day.

Actually, you learn about 20 of them.

The real problem is, which lesson do you choose?

Within the past 24 hours, let’s just say a lot of things happened that I could write about.

I’ll spare you the details.

See, it’s really hard to write a blog about your life for 365 days at the age of 19 in the public eye without sounding like Taylor Swift, a subtweet, or a bad ABC Family original movie.

How do I word my (many) thoughts to make sense? How do I organize them, give them form; give them life? How do I breathe them into something meaningful, for myself? And for you? And how much do I want to share without sounding crazy?

I could write about how much people actually have the ability to suck, but 1) that’s too many bad words to fit in one blog post. I think I’d exceed the maximum word count, and 2) that’s not a life lesson, that’s just fueling negativity. I could write about how the people you thought were kind and caring, only really wanted front row seats to laugh in your face. I could (and desperately thought about writing) write about how I said something completely stupid that I entirely regret but deep (…deep) down I am really happy I said, but we’ll save that lesson for another day, I’m sure.

Instead,

I’ll write this.

Good people— good friends— are the best medicine. Laughter is the best remedy.

A few friends and I went out for ice-cream (cotton candy 4 life), somehow ended up at Taco Bell (yes in that order), then watched some random rom-com with Rachel McAdams (GODDESS) and one of the less relevant Weasley brothers from Harry Potter (IT’S OK, YOU’RE STILL COOL).

Don’t ask me how it ended, I feel asleep.

BUT,

before then, I laughed so much.

Like a lot.

We laughed about really, really stupid things. Like ridiculous things no one probably laughs at.

And that’s how it should be.

Naturally, everyone came carrying their own baggage from the day. Boy problems, girl problems, life problems. Some, more than others. But we had all seen it for the day.

Sometimes, it helps to talk about it.

And sometimes, it just helps to laugh.

The more, the merrier.

If you can’t physically see your friends, pick up the phone.

Actually pick up the phone, and call them.

It’s refreshing.

You’ll laugh this way too, I promise.

Heck, have you ever tried group text message?

Not only will you laugh extremely hard at the ridiculous GIFs and exchange of ideas and insights in the conversation, but you might even figure out a group Halloween costume.

Dibs on The Cheetah Girls.

Listening and helping someone else through their struggle starts the healing process within yourself too.

Laugh. Smile.

Life is too short to be anything but happy.

You realize, everything isn’t so bad after all. All you needed was to smile, even if just for a moment.

It’s like a little spark of hope again. It’s the light at the end of your tunnel.

Laughter is the best medicine.

Dosage: take as often as needed.

Don’t let one bad egg ruin the rest of the dozen.

Que Iggy.

I GOT 99 PROBLEMS BUT YOU WON’T BE ONE, LIKE WHAT.

It’s Day Three.

And I got one less, one less, problem. ;)

 

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

