Lesson #7: Be honest with yourself.

7/26/14.

The moment you begin to truly honor yourself and care about yourself,

is the moment you are truly honest with yourself.

Be honest with yourself.

This does not mean everything will be perfect. This does not mean everything will fall into place. This does not mean every one will understand. This does not mean that every one will love you. Or respect you. Or be happy with you. Or for you.

This will be one of the hardest things you do in your life.

This will be one of the scariest things you do in your life.

And this will be one of the most rewarding things you do in your life.

You won’t be constantly hiding behind lies, or crouching in corners, or looking over your shoulder.

This will be real.

This will be liberating.

This, will be freedom.

This is loving yourself.

This is true cherishment of your mind, body, and soul.

This is a lesson I hope to learn over and over.

And I can only hope the same for you.

Ryan Gosling says so.

The Notebook.

Day Seven.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lesson #7: Be honest with yourself.

  1. aylasrad

    My dad told me a few days ago, “Ayla, would the year from two years ago like who you are now?” and I did not say anything. He wanted me to say no, but the me from two years ago was me! I didn’t change, I just stopped pretending. Stopped pretending I was someone I wasn’t: I was everyone else’s Ayla, but not my own. I met Mike and although not everyone likes him, he brought out of me the Ayla that I love. I’m fearless, I can defend myself gracefully, and I know I’m beautiful inside and out. Sure, I’m not perfect BY FAR, but letting go of the lies I would tell myself was the best thing I ever did, I don’t regret it even if my dad does not agree.

    Like

    Reply

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

