Lesson #21: To-do lists are prison sentences.

8/9/14.

I’ve had a million things to do recently, between work, shopping for my first house, packing for school, seeing friends, spending time with family, and a thousand other projects, like my YouTube channel and this blog.

I don’t know if you’re anything like me, but I’m a list person.

To-do lists run my life.

There is nothing more satisfying than crossing something off of your list.

But as of late, my to-do lists do not feel like lists.

They feel like prison sentences.

The things I once wanted to do, and liked to do, have become the things I “need” to do.

I’m constantly looking at my list, rolling my eyes, whining about it, then sitting down wondering when I’m going to have the time to get anything done, instead of getting it done.

My life is being run…

by a piece of paper.

 

Incredible.

 

But today, it all became clear to me.

You can’t do everything, but you can do something.

To-do lists may feel like prison sentences.

And maybe they are.

But if this is true, then serve your time, and move on.

Stop complaining, do it, cross it off, and say hasta luego.

Buh-bye.

Orange doesn’t have to be the new black.

Sorry, Taylor Schilling.

Day Twenty-One.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

