Lesson #26: Choose happiness.

8/14/14.

Be happy.

Well isn’t that easy to say.

…When you’re happy.

When you’re not?

Try saying that three times really fast.

Happiness has been an easy part of my life for a very long time.

So when it slipped away,

I was frazzled.

Happiness was an easy part of my life for a very long time, because things were easy.

But the moment things got hard, I became I flustered. I was confused when happiness wasn’t at my fingertips. When it wasn’t at the palm of my hands.

I filled the void with confusion. And when that wasn’t enough, I filled it with sadness. And when that wasn’t enough, I filled it with agitation, until it became a tiny, muted anger. I was just angry, all the time. I was silently disconnected, distracted, different, and dazed, and I didn’t feel like myself.

Sometimes, happiness doesn’t seem like an option. 

But just because it’s not at arm’s length doesn’t mean it’s not within your grasp.

I made the decision to reach out a little bit further.

And it was right there.

I laugh now.

How could I be so silly?

Sometimes, happiness isn’t all easy access.

Sometimes, it’s just not floating around.

I know.

I’m lazy too.

But sometimes,

you might have to bend a little bit.

Heck, you might have to get up and walk across the room.

But happiness is always there.

It’s always an option.

You just have to choose it.

Things start to look up when you choose to be happy.

When you choose to be okay with where you’re at in life.

When you choose to recognize that right now,

this fricking sucks.

But this won’t last forever.

It really won’t.

Here’s my lesson for you.

My little challenge.

It’s easy to be happy.

But what makes truly great character is choosing to be happy.

Choose to be happy, until you are happy.

Then one day, you won’t even realize you are choosing anymore.

Now try saying that three times really fast.

Day Twenty-Six.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

