Lesson #37: Self-control should be a thing.

8/25/14.

After a very interesting and shambly summer, I am extremely excited and overjoyed to finally be back at JMU to start off my junior year of college.

As you can probably tell from yesterday’s lesson,

I am directly in the midst of a move-in crisis.

I have yet to unpack and organize my things, I am adjusting to the fact that I actually have to go out and buy groceries—and even scarier—actually cook them, and I can barely make it to Walmart to buy move-in necessities because I am constantly a nervous wreck trying to navigate the Harrisonburg streets for the first time in my really crappy college kid car.

Ps.

They aren’t streets.

They are massive hills.

To avoid every and all of these responsibilities, I have basically done everything but.

Instead,

I have gone to see every single one of my friend’s new apartments (sometimes even twice), watched the VMA’s and Bridesmaids, and today, I have stopped and talked to every single person that I haven’t seen since last semester when I should have been back at my apartment getting my life together.

Today, the lesson is very simple.

It is one that I have not yet learned,

but it is one that I have learned that I absolutely, positively, need to learn.

Self-control.

See,

I can’t really say no to hanging out with people. Or doing fun things. Or spontaneously going places or exploring new things when I should just be like,

“I really can’t.”

And if you’re anything like me,

when you have a million things to do,

you sit down and do none of it.

Or either you try to do it all and you become completely burned out.

Learn self-control.

Life is just a huge balance.

And this year, I am determined to find my in-between.

It’s okay to say yes.

It’s okay to say no.

Just learn when to say it.

And hopefully,

one of these days,

I will.

Help me God.

Day Twenty-Seven.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

