Lesson #72: Regret.

9/29/14.

So I’ve been thinking a lot about regret lately.

Some person who thought they were really smart and clever, once said:

You should never regret. Because at the time, it was exactly what you wanted.

And while I would absolutely love for this to be true,

and how I really wish it was that easy,

it’s not.

I’m assuming the person who came up with this marvelous, simply put philosophy, must have been talking about something as minuscule as eating one too many slices of pizza, or having a cookie past 1AM.

But some things in life are not that simple.

Just because it’s what you wanted, doesn’t mean it was right.

And saying this doesn’t justify it, or magically make everything better.

It’s like trying to use a band-aid, when what you really need is stitches.

Unfortunately,

I haven’t learned how to stop the regret.

But I have learned how to go about it.

Maybe I don’t agree with the saying,

but maybe I agree with what it’s really trying to say—

what it really means.

Apologize.

To yourself.

All my days are starting to blend together,

which is sad,

because I’m not even 20 yet. (Sorry, give me four days).

But,

If I’m not mistaken, I think I might have written a little something about self-forgiveness in the past.

And I’m about to do it again.

Self-forgiveness is much needed in this life.

And on a continual basis.

It’s not a one-time thing.

It’s perennial.

It will keep happening, and it always be needed.

Much like yesterday, how I learned the work never ends,

neither does self-forgiveness.

You’ll need it to get through this life, so keep learning to give it to yourself.

Be kind with yourself. Be patient. Forgive yourself for dumb things you’ve done, even if it hurts you to do so. Shut out that voice, because it’s not real. It’s only in your head, and it will only stay there if you let it.

Self-forgiveness is a tricky, tricky thing.

It’s the lesson that’s never learned.

It’s the gift that keeps on giving.

I’m pretty sure it’s frowned upon by society to talk to yourself.

But let’s be honest—

we’re all mad here.

I’m giving you permission to talk to yourself today.

Not that I really have any authority to do that.

But let’s pretend.

You talk to everyone else but yourself, when you’re the one person who needs it the most.

Say sorry to yourself today.

And then tell yourself,

Apology accepted.

Now, go have one too many slices of pizza.

Day Seventy-Two.

3 thoughts on “Lesson #72: Regret.

  1. Pingback: Acknowledging Regrets Can Move You Forward | Revolutionary Paideia

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

