Lesson #73: Plot Twist.

9/30/14.

My morning:

I woke up to find that my laptop has crashed.

For the third time.

Great.

But I don’t have time to be sad, or upset, or worried,

because I have one hour to shower, eat, and dress fancy for the Career Fair, which I take pictures at every year for my job as the video/photographer at my school’s career and academic center.

Good thing I chose my outfit last night,

But my pants won’t stay up.

and I need a belt.

ASAP.

But not just any belt,

I need a black one.

Unless, of course, I wanted to look entirely tacky in a brown belt, which would completely crash with my outfit of choice.

Tragic.

I look in my drawer.

The only black belt I have is too small, because it’s specifically for the waist.

 

Fun.

 

Roommates? You up?

Yes.

Any one have a black belt?

No.

 

Cool.

 

I go to Wal-Mart.

I can make it before class, of course.

It will be quick.

 

I get my belt.

There is no line, because it’s eight in the morning.

Check out, get to my car.

 

Wrong belt.

XL is not my size.

But I wish it was at this moment.

Was I even paying attention?

I shake my head.

 

Back in Wal-mart.

Right size belt.

Back in car.

Catch almost every light.

Or at least, that’s what it felt like.

In gravel parking lot.

Grab packpack, start walking to class.

Where’s my phone?

 

At Wal-mart.

 

Of course.

 

Back in the car.

Back at Wal-Mart.

There’s no way I’m making it to class now.

But there’s good news.

My phone is right by the belts, that are tangled and unorganized.

Just like my life.

 

I make it to school.

Class is not happening this morning.

Especially not now.

So instead, I make my way to the computer help desk and turn in my broken laptop (and heart).

 

They have no idea when it will be ready.

I have a newscast due tomorrow, two videos to edit this weekend, and a paper in the works that I have no idea if I will ever get back.

And they have no idea when it will be ready.

I smile.

 

At least it’s sunny.

 

I read this somewhere on the internet.

It was probably Pinterest, or Tumblr.

Guilty.

It went something like this:

When something goes wrong in your life, just yell “PLOT TWIST!”,

and move on.

 

I liked this.

I liked this a lot.

 

So in honor of today:

PLOT TWIST.

 

Good thing this is only the rising action.

 

9/30/14.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

