Lesson #130: The best thing you can give.

11/27/14.

I’ve been really busy lately.

But what’s new.

I find myself having to skip out on plans last minute to get things done, and my thoughts drift in the middle of conversations because I have so much on my mind.

Most of all, I find myself justifying this lack of attention because I am “busy.”

But I’ve discovered that because of this, I am missing out on moments with the people who mean the most to me.

And they are more important than any task, or meeting, or essay I have to write.

Obviously, I want to get my work done (and be on Dean’s List… but we’ll see).

Certainly, I have commitments.

Of course, I can’t make everyone happy.

But I’ve realized that if something is important to you, you will make it happen.

You will devote time to it.

I’ve deemed one too many things (and people) “important” in my life that could easily be pushed further down my priority list. In turn, I find myself (let’s be honest) constantly having mental breakdowns, trying to take on everything.

I’ve realized that the only way you can possibly devote time to the things that mean the most to you, is if you actually choose the things that mean the most to you.

And once you’ve done this, all it takes, is taking a second.

Press pause. Whatever you have to do, it can wait.

Because what you’ve chosen to devote your time to is worth it.

The best thing you can do, is give your attention to others.

Especially when you hold them close to your heart.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Day 130.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

