Lesson #145: Believe in your ending.

12/13/14.

Something that I have really learned over the past few days, but has especially hit me today, is the most basic lesson in the book.

If you put your mind to it, you can do it.

Seriously, how many times have you heard that one?

It’s become quite the cliché. We roll our eyes at it, and scoff when we hear it.

But today was the first time this truly settled with me. I chewed on it for a bit, tossing it back and forth in my mind. I came to actually understand it.

If you know me, you know that I am all about inspiration. Yes—thinking that anything and everything is possible, and believing in yourself are both essential components in becoming successful.

You can say it over and over, letting it roll off of your tongue. “I just have to put my mind to it. I can do it.”

Optimism? Positive thinking?

Great.

But I’ve realized something.

Putting your mind to something runs a lot deeper than you.

Sorry.

It’s more than believing in yourself, or your capabilities.

It’s about believing in the final result.

Believing in the end project. The task. The goal. The dream. The business you are starting, the event you are taking on, the success you are vying for.

You have to believe in the task at hand. You have to believe that somehow, no matter how, it will work out. You have to believe that whatever it takes to get there, will be worth it. You have to believe that what you are picturing is worth fighting for.

Believing in what you can do is powerful.

But believing in the finish line is what will pull you through.

When I first came to my project partner with the idea for our music video less than a month ago, she looked at me and said, “I don’t know how we’d do that. But if you think we can do it, i’m in.”

Day by day we figured it out, and ultimately, it got done because we believed in the end result. It turned out even better than we imagined.

We worked hard, had a few mishaps and met a few assholes along the way (lessons begin to connect), but we put our minds to it, and did it. The video got over 1,000 views in 24 hours, and we got an overwhelming amount of positive feedback.

I had severe anxiety in my childhood. Sometimes I was scared to spend the night out, or go too far in fear of something happening to me. It subsided, but resurfaced occasionally in high school. When it came time to apply for college, I knew I wanted to go. I didn’t know how I would, or I could physically bring myself to do it. But I did. I didn’t care about what it would take to get there—I didn’t care how I would overcome my fear, or how I would react when I got there. I put my mind to it, and I just did it. It turned out to be the best decision of my life to this day.

I’ve learned that you don’t have to know all of the answers. You don’t have to know what’s going to happen, or how it will.

The scariest part is that you don’t even have to believe in yourself.

You just have to believe in the end.

Step out onto the water. God will provide you with little stepping stones, guiding you to your destination.

Putting your mind to it is about stepping out of your comfort zone, taking risks, and doing what it takes to get there.

If you put your mind to it, you can do it.

How does that sound now?

Day 145.

One thought on “Lesson #145: Believe in your ending.

  1. Pingback: Lesson #291: What I learned from just doing it. | A Year of Lessons.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

