“It’s okay to be stubborn, sometimes.” Guest Lesson by Anonymous.

This is kind of long, but bear with me.

I admit it. I am probably the most stubborn person in existence. Ask my boyfriend–he experiences most of it. I think I’m stubborn because I’m so driven to make things happen in my life. But this lesson stems from my most recent experience in being the most stubborn person ever, and in a SUPER negative way.

I was having a very stressful Monday before Thanksgiving break. I needed to get my schoolwork done, study for two tests, research nursing schools, fill out applications, eat, sleep, and keep my head on straight. I was so busy with school that I couldn’t do all of it. Because my boyfriend is awesome and likes helping, he offered to help do some research on the programs I was really interested in. He called me all excited, telling me that he had a wonderful and rare opportunity for me. He knew a woman that was high up in one of the up-and-coming nursing programs I was interested in. He contacted her, and she offered to give me a tour of the campus and meet with me to answer any questions I had. He gave me all of her information and told me that I should contact her on my own to set up a time to meet with her. Naturally, I was very excited about the potential opportunity, but my stubborn side made its presence known.

I snapped back saying that I was busy, and that I didn’t have time to do that. I told him that it could wait, because I didn’t have time to meet with her for a while anyway. He told me that I needed to jump on this opportunity before I lost it, and I knew he was right. Despite this, I continued to insist upon contacting her “when I had time.” At that point, I just wanted to be right. I wanted to prove something. But looking back, I have absolutely no idea what point I was trying to prove in not contacting her.

I’m an idiot, I know.

I eventually contacted her at the end of that week about meeting with her. When we tried to set up a time, nothing was working between our schedules, and she told me to contact her after break. I panicked and instantly started regretting not making moves earlier. As soon as break ended, I contacted her again and she didn’t respond. This made me sweat. I was super nervous, and I thought I had lost a really great opportunity. At the end of the week, she finally contacted me back and we were able to set up a time. WOOOO! Weight lifted! No more sweating.

FLASH FORWARD!

I met with her yesterday, and it was an amazing experience. The woman was so nice, and she made me feel very comfortable. She introduced me to a group of people on the application committee, and showed me the new simulation labs that are about to open for the first time. It was pouring rain, and the campus was still beautiful and clean. I felt like this school was somewhere that I belonged; somewhere I could get the best nursing experience possible.

I can’t imagine what I would’ve done if I didn’t meet with the woman before applications were due. This opportunity put a face to a name. I was able to show how driven I was to get into this school, and that I was going to do whatever I needed to do to make my application the best of the best.

Don’t let a point you are trying to make (good or bad) get in the way of an open opportunity, because you will feel like a complete DOPE if you miss out.

Maybe the next thing I’m about to say will make your feel better about being stubborn, because it definitely helped me.

I’m SURE J-Law has been stubborn at some point in her life. And she rocks.

Jennifer-Lawrence-Middle-Finger-Oscars

Being stubborn can be bad, but it isn’t always a bad thing. Jennifer Lawrence–and plenty of other successful people I’m sure–have probably had to fight to get to where they want to be. I am focused on getting into nursing school, finding a place to live, and applying for scholarships, and I’m not going to let anything stop me from getting there–within reason of course. And that’s the positive stubborn side of me.

The lesson to take from this is that it’s okay to be stubborn, but don’t be too stubborn.

Hold on to what you are fighting for. But don’t put your blinders on when something great comes your way.

“I’d like to direct at some point. But I don’t know because 10 years ago I would have never imagined that I’d be here. So in 10 years from now, I might be running a rodeo.” – Jennifer Lawrence

-Lesson by Anonymous

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

