“Trusting your instincts.” Guest Lesson by Anonymous.

You know that funny feeling you get in your stomach about a certain situation? Or when something just doesn’t feel right? That is your instincts, or your intuition. Here’s a short story…

So, I was talking to this guy and we ended up talking for the entire summer. He was a really nice guy and we had a lot in common. Our conversations were great and he was fun to be around. But he ended up becoming very inconsistent, so I just ended the entire thing. We saw each other a few times after that, because we run in the same circle of friends. However, I would speak to him and keep it moving. It was one rainy and gloomy afternoon, and I was spending the day doing homework and doing my hair. Out of the blue I got a text from a number that I did not have saved in my phone. Of course wanting to know who it was, I asked, and it ended up being him. I was surprised, because we hadn’t talked or seen each other in a year. We sent a few texts back and forth, but nothing else came of it.

Then one Saturday I was out shopping and I wasn’t quite ready to go home. All of a sudden I thought to text him and see if he wanted to go to the mall with me. He ended up meeting me, and from then on we talked every single day. Things were completely different from when we talked the first time, but in the back of my mind something just wasn’t right. I kept telling myself that I was being over dramatic or thinking too much as usual. Our conversations were great and when we spent time together it was fun. I was truly enjoying myself and I began to like him. In the back of my mind, something still wasn’t right, but again, I ignored it. Things continued to be great and all of a sudden we stopped talking. He made no action to text or call me, so neither did I. I left things like that.

I had a girls day with two friends that we both share. We were eating bomb Mexican food and talking about everything! I then asked them if they thought he was an inconsistent person. BOOM! They spilled ALLLLLL of his tea! Just like that I found out everything about him that I knew, but ignored. It hurt like hell that he led me on AGAIN, but I learned my lesson. Like the saying goes, “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.” In the beginning I was upset, but I learned a very valuable lesson.

The moral of the story is to trust your instincts. When you get a funny feeling about something, TRUST IT! Your instincts will never steer you in the wrong direction. However, the blessing in not trusting them will always teach you the lesson of learning to trust them. I ignored my instincts and I ended up hurt, but the blessing that I learned was worth it. TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS.

-Lesson by Anonymous-

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

