Lesson #172: Life is a game show (KINDA)

1/10/14.

I did it.

I followed my own advice (for once in my life) and it feels absolutely fantastic. Wow. I should totally do this more often.

Anyway.

Before we get to that, I have to tell you something.

I just thought of this thing. Obviously, there’s different kinds of lessons. But I’d like to think there’s different ways you interact with lessons. Different categories. Different species. Except I’m not a huge fan of science, so let’s just stick to categories to keep it fun.

Category one. Experiencing.

This is when you experience a lesson. These are lessons that you experience on the spot, like “I probably shouldn’t trust her next time” or “Wow, I’m never going to do that again” or “I probably shouldn’t put tinfoil in my microwave.”

Not that I’ve ever done that.

Category two. Realizing.

This interaction is a little bit different. This is when when a ray of light shines down from the heavens, or when you wake up one day and go “Yeah I suck I really need to change that” or “Oh so this is why this keeps happening to me.” You realize that your life needs a change, or that you need to change.

Don’t be embarrassed. It’s okay to suck. We’re human. You’re on your way.

Category three. Learning.

This is the winner. Both category one and category two funnel into this one. This happens sometime after you’ve experienced a lesson, or you’ve realized a lesson that needs to be learned. This is when you can reflect and report back on it. When you can say “I did it!” When you’ve actually made adjustments within your life (go you) according to what you’ve experienced, or realized. This is a lesson learned.

Some lessons are easier to learn than others. If you’re hard headed like me, it might take a few tries to learn the lesson. And other lessons, we don’t even get around to learning at all.

Each category is a little prize in itself. And behind each door holds something valuable.

It’s kind of like a game show, except not.

If this wasn’t a blog, I definitely would draw you a flow chart.

Today was a category three. Ding ding ding, I’m the winner! I’m inviting myself down for the prize, woo!

If you remember Lesson 156, you remember that I was unhappy with a certain part of my life, and that I needed a change.

I wasn’t happy with what I was doing. It involved a commitment that I made, and until this point in my life (that I can remember), I had never been unhappy in something that I had willingly chose to do. I didn’t know what to do, even though I knew exactly what I needed to do. I knew it wasn’t what I wanted to do anymore.

I was embarrassed, afraid that I would upset other people by my decision, and more than anything—afraid that I would regret my decision.

It took me a good amount of time debating, and going back and forth. I finally got the courage to do it, because ultimately, I knew my happiness was on the line.

Experiencing or realizing a lesson is the easy part. It’s learning it, the doing it, that’s hard. It’s learning it that’s true and rewarding.

I made my decision, and it became official today. It’s still really scary, because I have no idea what’s going to happen, or if I’m going to be any happier than I was before.

But I have learned my lesson.

I made the change.

And I know that this is a start.

This is my category three. This is my leap into something greater.

Day 172.

One thought on “Lesson #172: Life is a game show (KINDA)

  1. Pingback: Lesson #186: Adventure is out there. | A Year of Lessons.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

