“Just Breathe.” A guest lesson by Amanda Martin.

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:7.

I worked at Ocean Breeze Waterpark over the summer. One day I was talking to the cashier at the funnel cake stand, and half way through I was having a hard time breathing. My chest was tightening up, and I was getting really hot and shaky. I told my supervisor I needed to go to first aid because something wasn’t right. When I got to first aid and told them what was going on, the guy took my pulse and it was at almost 100 beats per minute. Five minutes later it only went down to 80 beats per minute. They wanted to call 911, because he thought I was having a heart attack, but I asked for lifeguard supervisors to see what they thought. They also wanted to me to go to the doctor, because they thought I was having a heart attack too. I went, and I found out that I have anxiety disorder. It was the scariest experience ever.

I feel like I am a weak person because I’ve been diagnosed with anxiety, but I have come to learn that it’s a part of me, and it’s okay. Anxiety doesn’t define me, I define myself. I am not a bad person because I am on medication. I just need to breathe, and let God take control. I don’t fight it anymore, because it just makes it worse.

So I guess what I am trying to tell you, is that whenever you feel overwhelmed, just breathe, and everything is going to be okay. Take a deep breath. Try to enjoy the moment you are in, even when life gets hard. Keep moving forward, and don’t fight anymore than you can handle. God cares for you, so let Him handle the rest.

You are human, and things are going to take control of your body, but don’t let that stop you from doing what you love. Don’t let worry control you. Don’t let stress or anything else break you. Take that control back. If you feel anxious or anything else, take a moment and ask why you are feeling that way.

Just Breathe.

Everything will be okay.

-Lesson by Amanda Martin-

GetAttachment.aspxAmanda Martin attends Tidewater Community College and plans to attend ODU in the Fall to major in Elementary Education and minor in Child Psychology. She serves on the Guest Lounge, Wave Create, and Worship team at Wave Church. She iS a full-time nanny and works at Ocean Breeze Waterpark in the Summer. In her free time she likes to surf, longboard, and write.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

