Lesson #224: Put people first.

3/2/15.

A lot of the times we learn lessons from our experiences.

But there’s something about the days we learn lessons from people that I just love.

I had dinner with my friend Brian tonight. I’m deeply saddened by the fact that every one on this earth can’t know him, and I wish that you could all some day meet him or meet someone like him, because he is a truly ray of sunshine.

After spontaneously deciding to tag along with him to an event after running into him in the library, we got to the room only to discover that we had the wrong night. So we went to dinner instead.

We talked about so many wonderful things, but one thing he said really stood out to me.

“This year, I’m putting people first.”

He told me that when people ask him to do something, he’s made it a point lately to just say “Heck,” and goes with it.

I loved this. Maybe I was so fascinated and inspired by this because it’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, but I’ve just been so busy. But then I thought: so is Brian. So is everyone. Aren’t we all?!

People are truly the spice of life. We need interaction. And I’m beginning to think that it’s not just about the quantity of interactions—but it’s about the quality.

Realistically, we can’t always put people before what we need to do. But we can find small ways to put people first in our lives every day.

Have a good conversation. But try it with your full undivided attention.

Catch up with an old friend. But don’t watch the television set while you do it.

Be open to making new friends. And actually try to see them again.

Make it a small goal every day to put someone first. Even if it’s one person. For a few moments, or for a few hours.

One of my favorite quotes goes like this:

“(More than anything else) You will need other people and you will need to be that other person to someone else, a living, breathing, screaming invitation to believe better things.”

Jamie Tworkowski knew what was up.

And she was right.

Be that living, breathing, screaming invitation to believe in other things.

And if you make real time for someone, they just may be that for you too.

Day 224.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

