Lesson #239: Get to talkin’

3/17/15.

I can’t express how important making connections is.

People always ask me how I know so many people, and I always think the same thing:

How do you not?

Well, that sounds absolutely horrible.

But really, it’s a lot more simple and less asshole of me than you think.

Talk!

You are surrounded by so many people on a daily basis. Say hi. Introduce yourself to friends of friends. Make conversation with someone in line. Join groups. Or classes. Or an online community. If you cross paths with someone you’ve only met once before, wave and catch up for a few moments. If you’re in a room full of people you don’t know, you’re probably there for the same reason. Go find out.

Really, really talk to people. Get to know them. Let them get to know you.

Some relationships build, and others don’t.

But you never know who you could be talking with, until you’re talking.

They could end up being your best friend, or a love interest. A co-worker. Your future boss. A superstar. They could be the person that lands you your next job, or gig.

I met my best friend in a theatre class freshman year, because we turned around on the first day and said hi to each other. I have my current job because a friend in my first college dorm linked me to it. I have a wedding shoot set up this summer because of my little, and another shoot because of a girl I knew from theatre in high school. I befriended and collaborated with a few people who also made YouTube videos a few years ago, and now one of them is walking red carpets.

Don’t just talk, connect.

Build friendships. Build love. Build care. Keep up. Let them know you appreciate them.

Contrary to popular belief, it’s not all about the now. It’s about building your future.

They may be part of it, and in even larger ways than you imagined.

This could be the start of something.

This could be your next big thing, or you could be theirs.

What are you waiting for?

Go get to talkin’!

Day 239.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

