“Things I know to be true.” A guest lesson by Julie Hirschhorn.

I was catching up on some blogs I love today and found a great post by The College Prepster about things you know to be true. I actually found this to be a really good mind-relaxing exercise. Here’s what I know to be true:

1. You can’t please everyone.  I stretch myself too thin sometimes trying to make everyone happy, and that’s just not possible. There’s always going to be something I forgot, something I messed up, or something I said that was wrong. And what I definitely know to be true is that it does no good to worry what other people think.

2. Money doesn’t buy happiness. It doesn’t.

3. Helping someone out truly makes me feel better. I especially feel this way when I am tutoring, and as cliche as it sounds, I love it when I see the concepts click for my clients!

4. You eat an elephant one bite at a time. As much as I try and hold things together on the outside, I still sometimes feel completely overwhelmed on the inside. My mom always tells me to eat an elephant one bite at a time, meaning that if you have an enormous task that can get you stressed, just take it one step at a time.

5. I will cry at least once during each episode of ParenthoodOr gasp and die of shock during Scandal.

6. It’s not all about you. I sometimes worry what other people think, whether it’s because I feel like I made a bad decision or I’m wearing something weird. My friend brought up a good point that people are too busy thinking about themselves most of the time to care about what you’re worried about. So bottom line, what you think is weird or bad, probably isn’t and it doesn’t matter. It’s all in your head.

7. Parents are your biggest cheerleaders. Love ya mom and dad!

8. Crying won’t make things better, but it will make you feel better. I don’t know about you all, but I ALWAYS feel better after a good cry. Even better when it’s to my mom. And then I get super tired and have a fantastic night’s sleep.

9. Your true friends are those who show up when you’re at your worst. The friends who are with you when you are a crying, blubbering mess, or staying up with you until 3 a.m. and then 8 a.m. the next morning to finish a project are the keepers.

10. I don’t know the answer to everything. And I never will.

Lesson by Julie Hirschhorn.

Julie Hirschhorn is a senior at James Madison University, and also writes for her own blog, The Collegiate Kitchen. Check it out here.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

