Lesson #273: The aftermath.

4/20/15.

It’s true.

We really can’t have everything we want.

But what people never consider is the aftermath.

What happens after the fact? Is something going on behind closed doors? When we don’t get it, is that it? Is that the end of it? Is it over?

As you can tell from yesterday’s lesson,

this has happened to me recently.

Like, yesterday.

But today the clouds cleared up just a little.

I honestly thought everything was ruined. I was about to let one small thing get in the way of all the good.

But then I called my mom, because who else would I call for a pick me up?

Once again, she taught me a few things—just like she always does.

Here’s how you handle the aftermath…

…from Momma Monise.

1) It’s not the end of the world. Period.

2) It’s also not as bad as you probably think it is. This is just a small inkling on the timeline of your life. Just because you didn’t get what you wanted or were wishing for, it doesn’t mean you’re doomed.

3) It doesn’t mean that what has happened instead of what you wanted, is bad or a mistake. Especially if this is a new wound or disappointment… you don’t even know what’s in store yet! Actually, it could be great. So why are you worrying?

4) This is an opportunity to grow. That happens when you are put outside of your comfort zone. Watch how things will begin to move and change in your life. You can thank God and the cosmos later.

5) Close your eyes. Now open them. Do you see it differently? This is a chance; a chance for something wonderful to happen. It’s all about perspective. It always has been. And it always will be.

I’m a strong believer that everything happens for a reason. But I also truly appreciated the fact that my mom didn’t lay that one on me today. Even though it’s a true statement, I think it’s even more important to know this—you have to make the best of what you have now. You can’t go back; you really can’t. So move forward. What you have now is all yours. Make of it what you can.

Make of it something great.

And if the theme of today is wise words from parents, then I have to revisit the idea surrounding what my dad said just a few days ago:

What are you doing to make it wonderful?

Day 273.
always believe
One thought on “Lesson #273: The aftermath.

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

