Lesson #316: If you weren’t afraid…

6/1/15.

My jaw dropped as I pulled up to the huge marble building.

I just can’t believe I’m working for NBCUniversal this summer.

After passing and waving to a few friendly but busy faces, I was introduced to the other intern, and was immediately excited to be working with her. She was incredibly nice, upbeat, and extremely helpful. She was also kind of intimidating—as she’s been there for an entire month already, and it was only my first day.

Let alone, my first internship.

After giving me a tour of the department and a speedy run-down of what we’ll be doing as interns, we sat down to eat our lunches outside on the terrace (a turkey sandwich, pita chips, and blackberries… I’m a big kid) and got to know each other a little bit better. She told me about her previous internship experiences: pitching reality shows, working at CBS news, and more. I was floored. Then she filled me in on how her time at E! has been so far. She’s already done so much: has gone on shoots, sat and watched on set, has scheduled lunch dates with producers and talent and other interns.

I told her that, honestly, I was intimidated. But that I wanted to do that too.

She told me this.

“What would you do if you weren’t afraid?” She laughed. “That’s kind of my motto while I’m here.”

“I love that!” I geeked out. I told her I was sticking that right next to my desk on a sticky note.

She shrugged. “I figured the worst they can do is say no.”

I’m the type of person who hates asking. I hate asking for help. I hate feeling like a bother. And it doesn’t help that I’m also easily intimidated.

But this summer, that’s all going to change.

At least, I plan on it.

It’s definitely going to be uncomfortable and hard for me. I have no doubt about that. But I’ve realized that there’s a recent theme in my life—one that I’m constantly asked to face and brought to confront.

And today, I’ll ask you too.

What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

Day 316.

One thought on “Lesson #316: If you weren’t afraid…

So, what did you think? Leave a comment!

